skip to primary navigationskip to content

Departmental Postdoc Committee Chairs' Network

DPCCN February 2015


The “Departmental Postdoc Committee Chairs' Network” is a joint initiative from the PdOC Society and Office of Postdoctoral Affairs.   The network meets termly to

  • provide a wide ranging, representative postdoc ‘voice’ to prioritise needs and contribute to the University wide strategy for postdocs.
  • share best practice, ideas and experiences between departments.
  • provide face to face advice, support, training for postdocs who are members of a departmental postdoc committee 
  • provide guidance and support for postdocs and departments who wish to set up a departmental postdoc committee
  • establish and engage in training opportunities for chairing and managing committees.

All chairs or representatives from Departmental postdoc committees / associations / societies are invited to join this network. If you are part of a Department postdoc committee and are not represented below please contact:

DPCCN Minutes and Papers

The DPCCN meets once per term to represent and explore the needs of the postdoc community.  Read the minutes of the termly DPCCN meeting and the papers produced by the network.

DPCCN Resources 

Cambridge guide on How to establish a Departmental Postdoc Committee

The UK Research Staff Association is a national group to provide a collective voice for research staff across the UK. UKRSA have written comprehensive guides on

  • Understanding research staff associations and their impact
  • Guide to research staff associations
  • How will getting involved with a research staff association benefit you?

You can download these directly from UKRSA . They are of high quality and are directly applicable to Departmental Postdoc Committees at Cambridge.


Network Membership

DPCCN Terms of Reference

RoleNameContact                                Information
Chair and PdOC representative

Tariq Masood

Tariq Masood

tm487 @

Jacek Mokrosinski

Jacek Mokrosinski

jm972 @

Pieter Desnerck

Pieter.Desnerck @


Robyn Veal

rjv33 @


Arts and Humanities

Department                  NameContact Information
Music Matthew Machin-Autenrieth 

mm2085 @

CRASSH  John Regan jjr35 @


Humanities and Social Sciences

DepartmentNameContact Information
Archaeology and Anthropology Robyn Veal rjv33 @
Politics and International Studies
Social Anthropology

Branwyn Poleykett

bp356 @


Biological Sciences

DepartmentNameContact Information
Biochemistry Tom Simmons
postdocs-committee @
Genetics Penny Hayward postdoc-cttee @
GRASP Committee Nicole Horst

nh382 @

Gurdon Institute P.A. Stempor ps562 @
Pathology Olympe Chazara oc248 @
Physiology, Development and Neuroscience Helena Khaliullina  pdn-postdoc-reps @
Plant Sciences Katrin Geisler kg404 @
Psychology Nicole Horst nh382 @
The Sainsbury Lab

Jose Teles

Katie Abley

jose.teles @

Katie.Abley @

Stem Cell Institute Clara Novo cscr-sci-postdocomm @
Veterinary Medicine

Bethany Dearlove

vetpdoc @
Zoology Nick Horrocks zoo-postdocs-committee @


Physical Sciences

DepartmentNameContact Information
Chemistry Mike Casford mtlc2 @
Institute of Astronomy

Ghina Halabi 

Nick Bate

astpdcom @

astpdcom @

Materials Science Paul Coxon prc39 @

Joanna Waldie

Paul Bennett

physics-researchers-committee @


Clinical School

DepartmentNameContact Information
Clinical School Postdoc Committee

David Shorthouse

Jacek Mokrosinski

ds728 @

jm972 @


Deanna Patmore 

Deanna.Patmore @

CIMR Daniel Prins  dp533 @



Institute of Metabolic Science Jacek Mokrosinski jm972 @
MRC Epidemiology Helen Brown heb56 @
Primary Care Unit (IPH)

Jo Emery 

jle40 @


Josh Kaggie

jk636 @



RoleNameContact Information
Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology

Krishnaa Mahbubani

ktam2 @

Computer Lab David Chisnall cl-postdoc-forum @

 Pieter Desnerck

edpc-enquiries @
Judge Business School

Arjun Mahalingam

am2257 @


University Partner Institutes

RoleNameContact Information
Babraham Inst Clara Novo clara.novo @ 
EMBL-EBI Amelia Baud abaud @
Sanger Inst

Rebecca Gladstone 


rg9 @