### University of Cambridge

### School of the Humanities and Social Sciences: Research Committee

#### Postdoctoral researcher representative

The Research Committee of the School of the Humanities and Social Sciences wishes to co-opt a representative of its postdoctoral community, in order to assist the Committee in its responsibility to oversee support for postdocs in the humanities and social sciences, and to enhance postdocs' contribution to the School's research priorities.

Expressions of interest are invited from postdoctoral researchers within the following institutions:

- Faculty of Economics
- Faculty of Education
- Faculty of History
- Faculty of Law, including the Institute of Criminology
- Faculty of Human, Social and Political Science [including the Departments of Archaeology & Anthropology, Sociology, and Politics & International Studies]
- Department of History and Philosophy of Science
- Department of Land Economy

The Committee meets termly under the attached terms of reference and reports directly to the Council of the School and thus to its Heads of Department – see <a href="http://www.admin.cam.ac.uk/univ/so/2014/chapter08-front.html#heading2-4">http://www.admin.cam.ac.uk/univ/so/2014/chapter08-front.html#heading2-4</a>

# The postdoctoral representative would serve for two years (renewable) from 1 January 2015.

If you are interested in this opportunity, please submit an expression of interest (max. 2 sides of A4) and a short CV, which should include:

- a statement of your interest and motivation;
- your experience in this area to date;
- an indication of how you would go about seeking and representing the needs of the School's c400 postdocs, in liaison with the wider postdoc community

The Head of School will review all expressions of interest and will select a representative on the basis of the criteria outlined above.

Informal queries may be directed to the Secretary of the Committee (isobel.humphrey@admin.cam.ac.uk, 01223 764061).

Please ensure that your expression of interest is sent to <u>cshssoffice@admin.cam.ac.uk</u>, to arrive no later than **close of business on Friday 12 December.** Late applications will not be considered.

### Council of the School of the Humanities and Social Sciences: Research Committee

Terms of Reference

- (a) Consider strategic issues relating to research funding (grants, other sources and Research Assessment exercises) and themes and advise Council of the School accordingly;
- (b) Develop School-level policy relating to research funding, including identification of strategic research priorities;
- (c) Monitor research funding performance, develop forecasts for planning purposes and identify areas for growth;
- (d) Enable large interdisciplinary projects, whether internal to the School or involving external partners, where a School-level body can act to increase opportunities or capability;
- (e) Distribute research support funding allocated by Council of the School, including oversight of the Philomathia Research Programme;
- (f) Monitor and encourage the representation of the School and the University on the Boards of the major funding bodies, to inform research strategy and the development of policy;
- (g) Oversee the partnership between the School and the University Research Office (URO)
- (h) Oversee research facilitation, including the School-based Research Facilitators and the support provided by CRASSH
- (i) Oversee School-level activity and policy relating to postdoctoral researchers, including researcher development planning and Concordat

The Committee is chaired by the Head of the School. The members are appointed by the Head from time to time to normally serve a three-year term, to include:

- one representative from each institution with a seat on the Council of the School;
- the School's nomination to the University Research Policy Committee;
- the Director of CRASSH; and other members co-opted at the discretion of the Head.

The Assistant Director of the Research Office, School Finance Manager and the School Research Facilitators are invited to attend.

The work of the Committee will be supported by a cross-School forum for Research Grant Administrators in the arts, humanities and social sciences

The Sub-Committees report to Council of the School.

Last update: 6 October 2014

## Membership 2014-15

Head of School (Chair)	Professor Martin Daunton	
Appointed by Faculty Board of Economics	Professor Hamish Low	
Appointed by Faculty Board of Education	Professor Anna Vignoles	
Appointed by Faculty Board of History Appointed by Faculty Board of Law Appointed by Department of Archaeology and Anthropology	Professor Rosamond McKitterick Professor Alison Liebling Dr Simon Stoddart	Nominated (renewable)
Appointed by Department of Sociology Appointed by Department of POLIS Appointed by Department of HPS	Professor Jackie Scott Professor Johnathan Haslam Dr Lauren Kassell	
Appointed by Department of Land Economy	Professor Colin Lizieri	
RPC representative	Professor Ken Ruthven	
Director of CRASSH Postdoctoral representative	Professor Simon Goldhill vacancy	SRI Public
Co-opted	Professor Simon Deakin	Policy
Assistant Director, Research Office Secretary of the School School Finance Manager Research Facilitator AHSS Research Facilitator AHSS	Mrs Jennifer Gilmartin Mr Julian Evans Ms B Housden Dr Barry Dixon Dr Daniel Wunderlich	Right of attendance
Secretary	Ms Isobel Humphrey	