skip to primary navigationskip to content

Annual General Meeting 2015 - pre deadline


2015 Annual General Meeting of the PdOC Society

5.15 pm Wednesday 17 June 2015

The Postdoc Centre @ 16 Mill Lane



All postdocs from The University of Cambridge, Cambridge Colleges and University Partner Institutions are invited to attend the 2015 Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the PdOC Society. The purpose of the AGM is to report on the activities of the Society for the past year, discuss how PdOC should develop in the next year and elect a PdOC Society Committee for the year ahead (until June 2016).

The PdOC Society

The aims of the PdOC society are to:

  • Represent Postdocs from all Faculties, Schools and Departments at the University of Cambridge and University Partner Institutions (UPIs).
  • Facilitate communication and networking between Postdocs both within the Departments and across Faculties and the wider University community.
  • Provide information and support so that Postdocs can make the most of their time at Cambridge.
  • Create a social and intellectual network for Postdocs throughout the University.

The PdOC Society Constitution states the aims and membership of the PdOC society, explains how PdOC Society functions and elects Officers of the Society.

Invitation to all

The meeting is open to all Cambridge based postdocs and any other members of the University who are interested in the aims of the society. We would like as many postdocs as possible to attend to get the input from a wide cross section of the current postdoc community.

Please register here if you are planning to attend the AGM. This helps us with planning the logistics of the evening!

PdOC AGM 2015 poster - please display in your department

PdOC AGM 2015 slide - please display in your department

How to apply

If you would like to stand for a committee role please complete the nomination form and return to the PdOC Society Secretary  by 5pm on 9 June 2015. Nominations must be proposed and seconded by two other Cambridge postdocs. The new committee will hold their posts for a full year until June 2016 and would be expected to hold a position with the University of Cambridge, Cambridge Colleges or a University Partner Institution for the full year. Full details of the membership of the PdOC society can be found in the PdOC Society Constitution.

2015 Nomination form (MSword) 

Nominations for Committee posts and other agenda items must be received by the PdOC Society Committee by 5pm 9 June 2015.

What to help out but don't want to join the committee

If you would like to help out with specific jobs e.g. organising an event, writing a postdoc guide etc. you do not have to join the committee. Each elected Officer manages a subcommittee and can 'co-opt' new members to this group for specific tasks. If you would like to help with a specifc task please contact the relevant committee member. They would be very happy to have your help! Please come along to the AGM to meet the current committee and influence how PdOC will develop over the next year.


Committee roles and further information

The PdOC committee roles are as follows. Thankfully a number of the current committee are willing, if reelected, to continue in their posts.  Nominations are open for all positions but we have a particular need in the following positions marked with a **. A full role description is available for each position. Please email Maya Ghoussaini (), Joy Warde ( or the current role holder if you would like further information.

The PdOC committee also chairs the 'Departmental Postdoc Committee Chairs Network' .  The role of DPCCN chair is filled by a named elected PdOC committee member as voted for at the PdOC AGM.  Tariq Masood is the current DPCCN chair.


  • Social and Networking Events Officer (joint position)**
    Current holder: Alice Hutchings (not standing for re-election) 
    Current holder: Brian Krummel (not standing for re-election) 
  • Communications Officer (newsletter editor)
    Current holder: Paul Bennett (standing for re-election)
    Current holder: Severine Mollard (standing for re-election)
  • University representation and policy officer **  (joint position) 
    Current holder: Tariq Masood (not standing for re-election)
    Current holder: Adina Feldman (standing for re-election)
  • Committee Member ** (without portfolio) x2
  • Committee Member (without portfolio) x2
    Current holder: Clare Simpson  
** We particularly need your help for these roles as the current role holder is not standing for re-election.